The Art of Transfiguration: Transforming My House into Hogwarts

To transform my house into Hogwarts, I knew I had to create a rustic and warm welcoming feel, since the school is very old but enchanting. All throughout the house, I put out knick knacks that were appropriate to what you would see at Hogwarts and lit a lot of candles or placed some unlit ones around to be seen.  I also used the Harry Potter books as displays since they have delightful works of art on them. I considered laying out my Harry Potter DVDs, but it seemed to lose the Hogwarts feel when displayed.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I made my very own Snitch using this tutorial at WikiHow. Isn’t it cute?? =)

Image

The table in the living room acted as a place to play wizard’s chess on as well as hold the photo booth props. I printed the “Witch Weekly” title and glued a black border on it before gluing the final piece onto one of my Vogue magazines. It just so happened that Taylor Swift wore a big hat on the cover that made it look like a witch’s hat when gluing on the title.

photo-23

 

To create my spooky bathroom, I based it off of the second book/movie, “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets,” since the bathroom was such a pivotal setting in that book. I printed out a sign warning my guests about Moaning Myrtle, who bothers all the students with her crying and incessant floods when throwing tantrums.

ImageImage

Inside the bathroom, there was another warning stating that the Chamber of Secrets was open. My sister finger painted this warning on plastic wrap and taped it to the wall. Pretty creepy!

ImageImageYou can also see the basilisk eyes looming in the frame to emulate the creature that hunted all that were not pure blood wizards (that really just made me sound like a Harry Potter nerd haha). The Hogwarts monogram was laminated and taped to the toilet cover.

Image

 

As specified on the invitation, I told my guests to follow the spiders, and they will lead them to the Hogwarts entrance. This is supposed to be reminiscent of the second book/movie, once again, where Harry Potter and Ron Weasley followed the spiders to find Hagrid’s giant pet, Aragog.

Image

I bought some plastic spider decorations off Amazon for really cheap to create my spider trail, and I made my own Aragog using wrapping paper and some leftover packaging used in my mail order from World Market. World Market seems to be green and not want to use any plastic, so they have some interesting looking packaging made out of paper, which I reused to make Aragog and Nagini (Voldemort’s pet snake, which I will show later in a future post on how I made it). Click here to learn how I created this giant spider and make one of your own!

Image

For the welcome sign, I freehand copied the owl using a picture I found on the Internet, and colored, cut, and laminated it to make it sturdy. I found a small plywood board from Michael’s and freehand copied the Harry Potter font to say, “Welcome to Hogwarts”; then I hot glued the owl on top. The board had a plastic hook on it already, which I used to hang on the door.

ImageImage

Wizards need a place to park their brooms, so I designated the “Broom Parking” on the opposite wall of the entrance.  Nice to also have a tool on hand to do some last minute sweeping of the porch =P

ImageImage

 

Please check back for the next few weeks for more detailed posts on my Harry Potter party and see my next post here on how to create your very own Aragog! Please feel free to comment and check out my other posts based on this theme party (links provided below).

  1. Harry Potter Party Overview — a look into my magical birthday celebration.
  2. Owl Post Invitations
One thought on “The Art of Transfiguration: Transforming My House into Hogwarts

  1. Pingback: Dinner with the Professors – Hogwarts Dining | Craftster Chic

Leave a Reply

