Sneak Peek – Harry Potter Birthday Party

Harry_Potter_wand

The older I get, the more celebrating my birthday becomes less and less of a priority.  Because of that, I’m less inclined to figure out what to do for my birthday when my friends and family ask me.  Of course, my family and friends have the best intentions, but sometimes I really would rather sit at home in my fat pants after a long work week and binge watch my favorite shows on Netflix.  Isn’t it my day after all?

 Sometime last summer though, I was browsing through a friend’s Pinterest page and found all these brilliant recipes and other cool ideas based on the Harry Potter series.  I really am such a nerd for Harry Potter and was easily taken away by the magic at Hogwarts and the rise of an unsuspecting hero.  So, in turn, I was eager to recreate what I found, but was completely unsure of when it would be appropriate to serve something like butterbeer.  Soon enough, lightbulb popped up – I’m going to throw my own Harry Potter themed birthday party!!

 I know most people would think I’m weird and crazy for planning my own birthday party, but even someone as self-involved as P. Diddy throws his own birthday bash.  He just has more money and servants to make it happen.  Fortunately though, I love party planning and creative crafting, and I was relieved to finally know what to do for my birthday this year.

 Funnily enough, a good bulk of my ideas for the party came to me while getting a massage.  It’s the most interesting feeling being inspired while relaxing.  I wrote down every idea I had when the massage was over and researched further online (Pinterest is such a God send to craftsters).

 So as a sneak peek of things to come, here is a pic of my friends with their special invites.  The invitation replicates a special owl post fit for a wizard.  This idea has been recreated on many blogs, but I enjoyed the pictures from lizzy writes the most.  The balloons were only about a $1 each and the drawing was easy enough to copy on the balloon.

 Image

To make the party more “adult,” I’m not enforcing any costumes and setting it as a “Dinner with the Professors” in order to assume the roles of the adult characters.  Each guest will be assigned a Hogwarts professor role, just for fun, and there will be several other surprises along the way.

I’m super excited for my party, which is this upcoming Saturday, and really hoping that all the hard work will pay off.  This party is many months in the making, so I’m expecting it to be an epic birthday!

Check back next week for a detailed account on my party.  Look forward to seeing several additional posts with links and tutorials of my own (including the owl post invitations) as well.

Have a magical day! =)

4 thoughts on “Sneak Peek – Harry Potter Birthday Party

    • Haha! Yes, she was a professor for a little while during Harry Potter’s 5th year. I won’t spoil just yet which professors I picked for each friend, but I tried to pick characters that weren’t too offensive =P Or at least found one similar characteristic to tie them to that character. Please check back next week when I post more details about my party =)

  1. Ohh.. I see how you phrased your question now haha! I’m so eager to see the reactions of my friends when they find out which professor they are! Thank you for commenting on my post =)

Leave a Reply

