DIY Valentine Hearts Chain

IMG_20140216_173635

Happy Post Valentine’s Day!  I hope everyone had a great celebration with their loved ones, or had a good time laughing at couples spending ridiculous amounts of money on this “holiday” =P  I was hoping to upload this before Valentine’s, but couldn’t find the time.  Oh well…better late than never!

Although I do believe, like the rest of the cynics, that Valentine’s Day was invented by Hallmark, I say might as well make your own fun and join in the festivities with cute DIY projects like this one.  I found this tutorial through Pinterest, and I’m a total sucker for hearts.  This craft is super simple to make and requires very few materials.

Here’s the step-by-step that originally came from JustBella (link to tutorial: http://www.justbellablog.com/2013/02/crafternoon-craft-tutorial-paper-heart.html):

8464907843_e3c6b70098_o

Fold and staple.  It’s as simple as that!  I did not want to try to recreate the steps on my own when this blogger so excellently displayed it through her picture tutorial.  Please click on the direct link to her blog for more details.  The only change I made was cutting them into 1” strips instead of 1.25” since I didn’t want my hearts too thick.  I also stapled the top two pieces on the topmost heart to make an oval so that the chain would hang better.

Once completed,  you can use the heart chain as a decorative piece on your wall or even to set a romantic dinner table for two as displayed above.  To create the wreath of hearts, I just stapled the top piece to the bottom heart to create the circle.  You can also use the hearts as a cheerful accent to your workplace.  I simply laid out my heart craft on my desk, and people stopped to exclaim how cute they were.

IMAG0837

Be prepared to have people stop and admire your handiwork! =)  Please feel free to comment below and link me a picture if you do happen to try this craft!

Leave a Reply

